A Web Science ?

This morning, I attended a preliminary meeting to set up a Master’s program in Web Science between all the likely candidates in Paris. As always, neither word is fine, but the name is catchy — and more importantly, many very diverse and brilliant people want this to happen, so I should take off quite well.

I will most likely be yet another victory of soft-start over scientific determinism: if you want things to grow big, let them happen; half of the team behind this set La Cantine (the very trendy co-working space in the Marais) with the same boldness.

Once again (the same idea seem to burgeon around Oxford) I’m the token-economist: I used to this wasn’t big an army, but I prove to be fairly vocal enough; more to the point, Web Science, like Medical studies, and like Economics, is defined by its object, rather then the method. This summer, I wrote an essay explaining that his modern (in the classical sense of related to progress) type of disciplinary division might prove to be efficient, but also surprizingly coherent.

If you want to know what is Web Science, are around Paris or Oxford and want to get in touch with the people actually active in those project (Me? I’m working on my bibliography.) leave a message.

About Bertil

I'm a PhD student in Digital Economics, and I love viennoiserie. Je suis un doctorant en économie (numérique) et j'aime la viennoiserie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Web Science ?

  1. Les Carr says:

    What a coincidence! There was also a Web Science curriculum workshop on Sept 15-16 in the UK. Perhaps we ought to share notes?

Leave a Reply

